And so it ends.

Hello everyone.

learning2tl here.

In case people haven’t been keeping up, this will officially be the last translation release from us of the main story of Jaku-chara. Links are as below.

Volume 2 Chapter 3 Part 6
Volume 2 Chapter 3 Part 7

Quite a bit later than the original 1 April target, but we did actually manage to publish these on 18 April to coincide with the release of Volume 7. Just no blog post from me at that point because I was on holiday in Japan. And too busy reading the new volume.

Anyway, the series now has over 500,000 total copies in circulation. Still no anime just yet, which is a bit disappointing since it would have no doubt boosted the series’ popularity outside of Japan, but reprints of all volumes have just been announced so there’s still a possibility we’ll get that elusive announcement next month. Who knows. Was really expecting it with Volume 7 though, given how it was meant to wrap up the second big arc of the series. No spoilers, but was another great volume.

Keeping to the original plan somewhat, we are officially dropping the main story of Jaku-chara Tomozaki-kun. In case you’re one of those who hasn’t been keeping up with the news, Yen Press licensed the series last year and the first volume is slated for a 23 July 2019 release.

To be perfectly honest, while there might be a slight delay before the official translation catches up and does Volume 2, long term I do expect them to be faster than us at our current pace. Please do support the official release if you have the means to do so.

Expect the translations for Volume 1 and Volume 2 to be completely removed from this site sometime in June.

So what’s next for this translation group? (Or what’s left of it)

Nothing much, really. No plans to pick up another series at the moment.

Thanks to all those who helped me bring this series to the English-speaking world (and in the process, quite a few other languages as well). Special thanks go to Kagefij, Fractal, GIN, Relicaa, ntsugu. Especially Kagefij, as without his guidance this project would have never really gone this far. It really helped to have someone more proficient than me in Japanese on board.

Thanks are also in order for the guy who did the manga scanlations. Great stuff while it lasted.

And of course, thanks to all you Jaku-chara fans for your support and enthusiasm.

Our discord server (which wouldn’t be set up had Fractal not joined, so thanks to him for that) won’t be going anywhere, so please do visit (on a side note, final zrnel count: 13). I’ll still be covering any Jaku-chara content that isn’t the main series.

You could say I’m in possession of a rather comprehensive collection of Jaku-chara interviews and short stories just waiting to be translated when the time comes.

See you around.

learning2tl

6 thoughts on “And so it ends.”

  1. I guess I’ll share my side of the story as well.

    This is my first translation project. I’ve been studying Japanese for a few years now and read a number of light novels to help improve my skills. (Actually, my prime motivation for studying is to be able to read light novels.) I chanced upon this story by coincidence and learning2tl’s translation of the first few chapters got me addicted. I quickly caught up to the current volume in Japanese. Wanting an outlet for my love of this story, I offered to contribute to the translation of this story.

    At that time, I had no idea what I was in for, but decided to give it a go anyway. It has been quite a ride. Translating takes a lot of time, especially when you aren’t that proficient in that language. Sometimes you don’t know what something means, you just skip over it. But when you’re translating, to do the author’s justice, you have to go and find out what that idiom or slang means. Obsessively going over these little details gave me a different perspective to the story. Even in volume 1, something a character does or how a character speak is actually very coherent with future volumes.

    Licensing is actually a very good news. In the long term, you’ll be getting your fix of Jaku-chara faster than the two of us will ever finish, properly edited while supporting the author at the same time. Make sure you support them if you are able to!

    As for the future, I don’t have a new project and I’m not planning to. Looking at the amount of time it takes, I’m done with translating for now. Actually, I’ve stopped translating ever since the licensing was announced and you got to thank learning2tl for continuing until now.

    Finally, don’t forget to stop by our Discord to discuss Jaku-chara or any other novels. Unlike a certain sometime whose handle name starts and ends with L, I’m fine with giving out spoilers and don’t insist people fall all the time. (Sssh! Don’t let him hear this.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh dang. But that is life, congratulations to you, your team, and to the author. Thank you for the effort of bringing this gem to the non-japanese community and good luck in your future endeavors because you guys deserve it after all the good deed you did.

    Like

  3. Thanks for the work your team has done. Reading Tomozaki has been a pleasant experience so far and I have the author and you translators to thank for that.
    Once again, thank you ans good luck to all of you.

    Like

  4. Thank you very much for your efforts until now. I used to be a fan translator myself (other language though) so I understand very well what you said. Looking at your translation I know you have put a lot of time in it. And that, I very much appreciate. Jaku-kara is one of the best in my reading list. I’ll make sure to support the author as well when this come out in English.

    Like

Leave a comment